top of page

Who's That In The Cat's Pajamas by Sojourner McConnell


This was such a special book for me to read with my 6-year-old. We are facing a potential house move in the next few months and she’s already expressed a great deal of uncertainty about it. And I will admit, I really enjoyed being able to embrace the childlike wonder that I remember getting lost in again.

The Book

Dolcey helps children who are facing difficulties in their lives, when she hears the cries of a little one - she immediately kicks into action. She is a faerie who can take on the appearance of an animal. I loved this aspect of her because it was just so different from the standard portrayal of faeries. This is also why the title mentions a cat and pajamas.

I appreciated the length of the book – kid’s attention spans aren’t always the greatest so being a short read I was able to get through it without any boredom kicking in. My girl enjoyed the idea of a faerie being able to make a little girl fly so I suspect a few desperate pleas to be able to do the same soon. 😊

Most important of all for me was the way Dolcey communicated with Emily. While the change was unavoidable, she helped the little girl seek out the benefits that would arise, enforcing the idea that though situations are not always what we want them to be, there’s always something to look forward to – you just need to look carefully enough to find it.

Finally, WTITCP also reinforces the idea of providing children with a safe and secure environment where they know that they can express their feelings, and will be heard. And that there is no shame in feeling sad or uncertain.

I thoroughly recommend this to parents/guardians to read with their little ones for a sweet read, or just as a guide to addressing some changes they may be experiencing.

More Information:

Publisher: Kindle Edition

Published date: June 2nd 2017

Genre: Childrens Fiction

bottom of page