top of page

Midnight Tales by Toni Cox


The cover guys, the cover. I am loving the series covers. Each one fits together so nicely with the next one and I cannot wait to have all of them sitting on my bookshelf. This kind of cover reminds me of those seriously good books of old that you got on Christmas from your parents cause they cost so much. It looks SO snazzy.

Then the book. Well this one is hard for me because obviously I freaking love Cox. Her stories of Maia, both the main stories and short stories, are so out there that I can't help but get absolutely lost. That being said, this story was hard for me emotionally because I felt so connected to Maia, that I felt her pain, her frustration and her power. I can't say more. I can't because you need to read this book.

This is the second book in the Elemental short story series and I highly recommend it. If you haven't bought book one yet then don't worry because this one can be read as a stand alone, although I won't lie - you would be missing out.

Blurb She felt like she could fly for eternity as the world sped by below. The many lakes sparkled like so many diamonds in the sun. The sheer speed took her breath away.

Maia accompanies her father on a journey to the exotic city of Rathaés. She is still young, only sixty-three years of age, and it is one of the greatest adventures she has been on.

When they cross the desert on their return journey, Maia finds herself stricken by a mysterious illness. Unbearable anger and irritation drives her to abandon her people at the oasis and she runs off into the desert.

Two days later, dehydration and exposure find her close to death and she collapses behind a large dune.Shortly before sunrise on the third day, she wakes to discover that she is not alone. Something terrible and dangerous lurks at the base of the dune, intent on killing her.

Weak as she is, she can barely defend herself. Her life hangs in the balance as she learns to communicate with the creature that wants nothing more than to eat her.

Review Rating: 5/5

More Information:

Published By: Self-Published

Published Date: July 30, 2017

Genre: Fantasy

bottom of page