top of page

Bite Somebody by Sara Dobie Bauer

“Do you want to be perfect?” That’s what Danny asked Celia the night he turned her into a vampire. Three months have passed since, and immortality didn’t transform her into the glamorous, sexy vamp

she was expecting, but left her awkward, lonely, and working at a Florida gas station. On top of that, she’s a giant screw-up of an immortal, because the only blood she consumes is from illegally obtained hospital blood bags. What she needs to do—according to her moody vampire friend Imogene—is just … bite somebody. But Celia wants her first bite to be special, and she has yet to meet Mr. Right Bite. Then, Ian moves in next door. His scent creeps through her kitchen wall and makes her nose tingle, but insecure Celia can’t bring herself to meet the guy face-to-face. When she finally gets a look at Ian’s cyclist physique, curly black hair, and sun-kissed skin, other parts of Celia tingle, as well. Could he be the first bite she’s been waiting for to complete her vampire transformation? His kisses certainly have a way of making her fangs throb. Just when Celia starts to believe Ian may be the fairy tale ending she always wanted, her jerk of a creator returns to town, which spells nothing but trouble for everyone involved.

I won this book in a competition ages ago so I was rather irritated with myself that I didn't read it sooner because it turned out to be a really good read. I had this sneaky little treasure just sitting there begging to be read and I was so caught up with other stuff that I only go around to it now. And now I can't wait to read the sequel - Bite Somebody Else.

Firstly, the presentation. The cover is very unique and is striking. The use of the night background combined with the calm of the sea and the brightness of the woman on the front is very attractive and is sure to catch the eye of anyone passing it by, whether in a book store or on kindle. It certainly raised my curiosity.

Next is the introduction of the story. Dobie introduces us to an interesting character in Celia. As most vampire writers of this day are trying to introduce something new or different but Dobie introduces us to what I imagine a rookie vampire would be. Confused; scared and not much different from when she was still alive. This for me was interesting because it gave room for much character development if written well and Dobie did just that she wrote well.

The following thing I would look at is the story. It progresses at a realistic pace, with realistic character interaction and development. It was an enjoyable read that made me laugh out loud while I read about the exciting adventures of Celia; Ian and Imogen. The nice touches I liked were the funny way the conflict in the story built up and was at unexpected, which made the story unpredictable and fun.

The story was something you will devour and continue to taste in your mind for weeks to follow, as it did with me. It is a great book and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys romance, comedy and fantasy.

Review Rating: 4/5

More Information:

Published By: World Weaver Press

Published Date: June

Genre: Paranormal,

bottom of page