top of page

Enden by David Kummer


Hello my fellow Bibliomaniacs, TBBManiacBrandi here with my first ever review !

In choosing a book to read As my first step into book reviewing I saw this book on the list and a young adult/ fantasy fan I was very excited to get my hands on it. And after doing a bit of research on the Author , David Kummer , I was looking forward to reading what this young man had in-store for his readers.

The author starts book 1 with a very detailed history and a map of Enden, a war torn kingdom with Elves, Dwarfs, Humans , and monsters. I for one enjoy a good history lesson as a preface ,especially one so Tolkien-esque so it was one of my favorite parts of the book. But for some readers who prefer to jump right into the story itself this may be an issue as I feel it's a necessity to read it before you get into the tale.

The story follows our rebellious protagonist, Jonathan. A teenaged boy discontent with the state of his nation and family life and itching to do more than spend his life tending to the family farm. When barbarians raid his village he is faced with the choice to flee or fight. Jonathan choosing the latter embarks on a journey to save his people.

This writing in book was very descriptive and relatable .It felt as though I were a fly on the wall inside the tents, riding alongside Jonathan and his fellow warriors and fighting in the battles. It gave me the feeling that I was watching a film rather than reading letters from a page.

This book fits very well into its targeted audience of young adult readers . Due to the battle scenes I wouldn't recommend the book as a bedtime story for young children despite its fantasy setting. But that is more dependant of the individual child and parent rather than the actual content of the the book.

Overall this book is a terrific choice for lovers of fantasy and young Adult books. And anyone like me who's always looking for the next book series to dive into. I truly look forward to the next book.

Review Rating : 4 stars

More Information

Published by: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Published date:November 28, 2016

Genre: Fantasy/ Young Adult

bottom of page