top of page

The Witches List by Andrew Cairns


The Witch’s List follows Sandy Beech as he ventures out into the world. He has a preference for WOC, his first being the exotic Gabriella. Unfortunately for the unlucky Sandy he is chased away from Gabriella by her cousin, who just so happens to mutter a strange language at him in the process. Needless to say Sandy is heartbroken, heading off to uni he encounters a nun who warns him of Gabriella and how he needs to control his lusts. Being a stereotypical male protagonist he doesn’t, landing him the title of Husband to Rocky.

The cover grabbed my attention immediately when I checked it out on Goodreads, I really enjoy supernatural literature pieces and being a resident of the African continent am acutely aware of my need to further understand the various customs and beliefs pertaining to witch craft. Naturally I thought that The Witch’s List would be just the book for me.

Unfortunately, as the book progressed I found my feelings being influenced by the intense dislike I started to develop for Sandy. It felt like I was reading the diary of a sex addict, listing his numerous conquests. I understand the purpose of involving his lust as a plot piece, but it just got a little too excessive for me. Pursuing numerous sexual partners, dumping one and then still having sex with her afterwards. Losing interest in his wife because she puts on weight, then cheating on her? Sorry but this was all too stereotypical male protagonist for me, I need a character with a little more substance particularly when broaching the topic of witchcraft within the African culture

He is a terribly contradictory character, at one moment taking heed of potential witchcraft items, rumours and beliefs, the next calling it bullshit. Determined to leave his wife, then devastated when everything comes to a head?

Hints of the witchery to come are dropped throughout parts 1,2 & 3 – a burning bible, falling crucifix, bones etc., but I found this hardly enough in building the book up. I kept at it and rather enjoyed his experiences alongside wife Rocky while they visit her family. The topic of black magic increases, though still without enough to leave me feeling like I needed to keep reading.

The twist at the end was heart-breaking, though a little abrupt it’s definitely going to allow for an interesting continuation into Book 2 of the trilogy, I hope that we will be given a chance to see another side of Sandy as I think this was the biggest area of disappointment. In all one can tell that decent research was done before writing, and a thorough editing process was used.

I received an e-book copy in return for an honest review. All opinions here are my own and have in no way been influenced by the author or any other parties.

Review Rating: 2/5

More Information:

Published By: Cosmic Egg Books

Published Date: 1 June 2016

Genre: Mystery

bottom of page