top of page

Trail of Secrets Writer: Laura Wolfe Narrator: Kelli Andresen

I received a free copy of the audio publication in return for an honest review:

Brynlei has looked forward to a stay at the Foxwoode Academy for as long as she has known about it. What better way to spend three weeks of a summer vacation than living in close proximity to horses and learning how to become a better rider! Ghost stories around the nighttime campfire introduce the tale of a girl who went missing from the academy 4 years ago - but is the tale real, or just a story to ensure the girls stay on the marked trails?

Laura Wolfe has done an extraordinary job of creating interesting, strong and believable teen characters in this tale woven around the mysterious disappearance of a student of the academy. There was no point in this story when I thought ‘ok, I know what’s coming next’! Her characters have been crafted in a way which is just a little kwirky and yet completely believable, which has been so refreshing to experience.

Kelli Andresen is an excellent narrator and her performance of this story is outstanding. I was able to connect with the characters and could easily visualize the settings in this story. However, I am not sure if there was an issue with the length of the finished production or if Kelli is just a fast reader, but I changed the speed of the story to -0,75 after the first chapter. The speed at which the story has been recorded is so fast that I felt like I missed sections. Such a pity because this story deserves better.

Even though this mystery is classified as Young Adult, I highly recommend this book for teens and upward.

As this is the first time I have encountered a story which gallops along so fast that I had to change settings to be able to enjoy it, I have rated this publication as follows:

Review Rating Writer:: 4.5/5

Review Rating Narrator:: 2/5 (4 if this is an editing issue)

More Information:

Published by: Melange Books - Fire and Ice Ya

Published Date: July 8, 2016

Genre: Young Adult

bottom of page