top of page

Kingston Raine and the Grim Reaper (Kingston Raine #1) by Jackson Lear


Reviewed by Robyn

5 stars

The Book Death, CEO of Death Inc., ruler of Limbo is faced with an impending coup, he also has to deal with the accidental death and appearance of Kingston Raine in Limbo. Kingston Raine is a fictional character who should by no means even be able to die, let alone appear in Limbo. And apparently it is Raine who is going to be a central figure to the coup against Death – but will that be at Deaths advantage, or not? Raine however is focused on only one thing, getting out of Limbo and it’s current political turbulence and back to his captured girlfriend Joanna. Stealing Deaths scythe he embarks on a confusing and frustrating journey through several other fictional worlds, one of which leads him to joining forces with Little John – blundering, embarrassing frustrating but loyal to the end.

What I loved The entire damned book. Seriously, I haven’t even finished it yet, in fact, I really don’t want to finish it, I’m already getting a book hang-over and considering I haven’t had one in a few years, I know it’s going to hurt.

Jackson Lear has managed to grab my attention and now, undivided support, by bringing to life characters through skillful development of personality and interpersonal interaction with other characters. As I read the dialogue I did not feel as though I was reading a book, it felt more like I was sitting with a group of friends, experiencing a typical (for us) conversation.

I was excited to experience such an incredibly different approach to Life and Death, portraying it as a modern day business, or country, with it’s own social and political issues to deal with.

What I didn’t love In all honesty, the ending was a little abrupt for me. Though this could also be because I actually just didn’t want the book to end, and now that I’ve finished it I’m feeling a tad at a loss for what to do with myself.

This book is funny, it’s fast paced, it grabs hold of you and refuses to let you or your imagination go. It’s been an absolute pleasure to read and I cannot wait to get my fingers on the rest of Jackson’s work.

bottom of page