top of page

Laplatia by Alexandre Loch

Reviewed by Sian

This book was a bit of a break from my normal tastes, what I mean is – this is not the sort of book I would normally seek to read because I am inclined to other genres, and other writing styles. That being said, for a book I wouldn’t normally read I did enjoy the imagery and message of the book. I struggled a bit with the style of writing – again, because I enjoy a different kind of style – but it was an interesting read.

Based in the fictional city of Laplatia, where imagination is converted to energy known as Fos Production – people are being treated as cattle to fuel the city, and are in turn fueled by greedy corporates trying to gain more Fos, and so the vicious cycle continues – leaving the city teetering on the brink of chaos. Following the stories of a few of the residents and by products of the city, Alexandre Loch gives an excellent view of the human psyche through the eyes of a a variety of personalties, situations and mental states.

I enjoyed Alexandre’s book and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something interesting to read.

bottom of page